Park University International Center for Music to Present a “Classical” British Invasion Series of Concerts

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Share this article:

Park ICMIn the early-to-mid 1960s, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and the Kinks were among the rock and roll acts that led to the cultural phenomenon known as the “British Invasion.” In mid-October, Park University’s International Center for Music will host a series of three concerts billed as the “‘Classical’ British Invasion” on Sunday, Oct. 15, at 4 p.m., and Friday, Oct. 20, and Saturday, Oct. 21, both at 7:30 p.m.

The concerts, a part of the Park ICM 1900 Series sponsored by Steven Karbank, will be held at the 1900 Building, 1900 Shawnee Mission Parkway (intersection of Shawnee Mission Parkway and State Line Road), in Mission Woods, Kan. Tickets for each concert, $30 for adults and $15 for students, can be purchased at

The series of concerts will feature a trio of musicians from Great Britain — cellist Martin Storey, principal cellist of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and a former ICM faculty member; violinist Kanako Ito, former concertmistress of the Kansas City Symphony; and violist Paul Silverthorne, principal violist with the London Symphony Orchestra and London Sinfonietta. Also performing will be pianist Kenny Broberg, ICM graduate student and silver medalist in the 15th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition; violinist Ben Sayevich, ICM professor of music/violin; pianist Lolita Lisovskaya-Sayevich, ICM collaborative pianist; Daniel Veis, ICM assistant professor of music/cello, violist Chung-Hoon Peter Chun and bassist Brandon Mason.

The Oct. 15 program will include the following selections:
          •  “Viola Sonata in E-Flat Major, Op. 120, No. 2,” composed by Johannes Brahms, performed by Silverthorne and Lisovskaya-Sayevich
          •  “Violin Sonata in A Major No. 2, Op. 100,” composed by Brahms, performed by Ito and Lisovskaya-Sayevich
          •  “Cello Sonata in E Minor No. 1, Op. 38,” composed by Brahms, performed by Storey and Lisovskaya-Sayevich

The Oct. 20 program will included the following selections:
          •  “String Quintet No. 3 in C Major, K. 515,” composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, performed by Chung, Ito, Sayevich, Silverthorne and Storey
          •  “Serenade in C Major, Op. 10,” composed by Ernő Dohnányi, performed by Chun, Ito and Veis
          •  “Quintet in A Major, D. 667” (The Trout”), composed by Franz Schubert, performed by Lisovskaya-Sayevich, Mason, Sayevich, Silverthorne and Storey

The Oct. 21 program will include the following selections:
          •  “String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 51, No. 2,” composed by Brahms, performed by Chun, Ito, Sayevich and Storey
          •  “Concerto for Two Bass Instrument,” composed by François Couperin, performed by Storey and Veis
          •  “Piano Quintet in A Major No. 2, Op. 81,” composed by Antonín Dvořák, performed by Broberg, Ito, Sayevich, Silverthorne and Veis

The next concert in the Park ICM 1900 Series will be Friday, Jan. 26, featuring the husband-and-wife duo of Sayevich and Lisovskaya-Sayevich., starting at 7:30 p.m. The next performance in the ICM’s 2017-18 season will be Saturday, Dec. 2, with a free performance by the ICM Orchestra starting at 7:30 p.m. in Graham Tyler Memorial Chapel on the University’s Parkville Campus. That concert will be followed by another husband-and-wife team performance — violinist Cristian Fatu and pianist Victoria Martirosyan Fatu, both 2010 ICM graduates — who will present a concert on Sunday, Dec. 10, starting at 4 p.m. in the Chapel.