Kansas City Artist to Exhibit Work in Park University’s Campanella Gallery

Monday, September 18, 2017

Share this article:


Rita Guile ExhibitThe Campanella Gallery at Park University will host an exhibit of fine art paintings by Kansas City area artist Rita Guile beginning Monday, Oct. 2, through Wednesday, Nov. 22.

Guile, a resident of Mission, Kan., will exhibit a series of her work titled “Life, Stories, Memories and Painting.” I am observant of the subtle and minute qualities of my world, and I want to tell a story. I delve into the elusive painting process and abstracted images emerge,” Guile said. “These images suggest a home, memories and relationships…and evokes a narrative, suggesting the warmth, beauty and security of a family’s ancestry and past.”

Guile earned an Associate of Arts degree from Johnson County (Kan.) Community College, and also studied at the Kansas City (Mo.) Art Institute. After working at Hallmark Cards for 27 years as a designer in sales promotion and as a product designer, she retired to dedicate herself to painting. She has had solo exhibitions in the Kansas City area, and has been a part of juried exhibitions across the country. For more information about Guile, visit www.ritaguile.com.

Admission to the Campanella Gallery, located within the University’s Norrington Center on the Parkville Campus, is free. The building and Gallery’s hours are as follows:
     •  Monday, Oct. 2, through Friday, Oct. 6, and Monday, Oct. 16, through Tuesday, Nov. 21 — Monday through Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.; Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Saturday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Sunday, 4 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. (regular building hours)
     •  Monday, Oct. 9, through Friday, Oct. 13 — 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Fall Recess hours)
     •  Wednesday, Nov. 22 — 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (last day of exhibit and day before Thanksgiving holiday)
     •  The building will be closed Saturday and Sunday, Oct. 7-8, Saturday and Sunday, Oct. 14-15, for the Fall Recess, and Friday, Nov. 10 for the Veterans Day holiday