Park University Board of Trustees Elect New Members

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Share this article:

The Park University Board of Trustees has elected two individuals to serve as members of the University’s Board. Elected to their first term, effective July 1, were William L. Perry, Ph.D., and Jacqueline I. Snyder, Ed.D.

Dr. William PerryPerry, who earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in history and mathematics from Park University in 1967, is president emeritus of Eastern Illinois University and professor emeritus of Texas A&M University. Perry spent his entire 44-year career in higher education at the two aforementioned schools, including the last eight at EIU where he served as president and professor of mathematics before retiring in May 2015. He was at Texas A&M for 36 years, rising through the faculty ranks in the Department of Mathematics. During his final 17 years at Texas A&M, Perry served various positions within the Office of the Provost, including terms as dean of faculties and associate provost, executive associate provost and vice provost.

Perry was the recipient of Park University’s Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1999 and he received the Outstanding Philanthropist Award from the EIU Foundation in 2014. Perry has been an active community leader in the College Station, Texas, and Mattoon, Ill., areas, including having served stints as chair of the Brazos Valley (Texas) Rehabilitation Center and the United Way of the Brazos Valley, and as president of the Opera and Performing Arts Society at Texas A&M. Perry earned both his doctorate in mathematics and Master of Arts in mathematics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Dr. Jackie SnyderSnyder is the chancellor emeritus of the Metropolitan Community College five-campus system in the Kansas City region. She has spent her entire 40-year career in education, including the last 15 years at MCC where she served as chancellor and chief executive officer for five years. She also served as president of Penn Valley Community College for 6½ years and vice chancellor of economic and resource development. Prior to MCC, Snyder was at Johnson County (Kan.) Community College for 17 years, serving as executive director of college and community relations, assistant dean of community services and special events, director of staff development and as a member of the faculty. She also spent nine years as an educator in the Shawnee Mission (Kan.) School District.

Among the awards Snyder has been honored with include: Distinguished Alumnus Award from Emporia State University in 2006, Woman of Distinction Award from the Missouri Women’s Council and the Woman of Achievement Award from the Metropolitan Zonta Clubs of Kansas City, both in 2008. She was also inducted into the University of Kansas Women’s Hall of Fame in 2009. Since retiring from MCC, she has remained active in her civic life, having served two terms on the City of Parkville, Mo.’s Board of Aldermen and on the board of Shepherd’s Center in Kansas City, Mo. Snyder earned both her doctoral degree in higher education administration and Master of Science degree in educational administration from the University of Kansas, and a Bachelor of Science degree in education from Emporia State.

The University’s Board of Trustees is comprised of business, civic, educational and philanthropic leaders, as well as Park alumni and friends, who advocate on the University’s behalf.