Social Psychology

Study human behavior and its influences to positively affect people’s lives.

What is Social Psychology?

Social Psychology is a hybrid of psychology and sociology. This discipline studies how our behavior is influenced by our social environment. This adaptable major will prepare you for meaningful work in business and industry, government, social science, data analysis, public policy, service professions or graduate study.

Social Psychology, A.S.

Loading…

Social Psychology, B.S.

Loading…

Social Psychology, Minor

Loading…

Dr. Geri Dickey


Interim Dean College of Education and Health Professions (CEHP)
gdickey@park.edu

Dr. Monica Brannon

Department Chair
Assistant Professor of Sociology
mbrannon@park.edu

Dr. Andrew Johnson


Professor of Psychology
ajohnson@park.edu

Dr. Cynthia Cerrentano


Associate Professor of Psychology
cynthia.cerrentano@park.edu

Dr. Pooya Naderi


Assistant Professor of Social Psychology
pooya.naderi@park.edu

Dr. Chelsea Platt


Assistant Professor of Sociology
chelsea.platt@park.edu

Dr. Brian Cowley


Professor of Psychology
brian.cowley@park.edu

Our Social Psychology degree program combines a solid core in the field with a number of flexible, specialized concentrations, so you can tailor the degree to your needs and interests. You’ll gain a set of technical and conceptual tools that allow you to collect, analyze, and interpret social research data. You can apply this knowledge to a number of careers.

Social Psychology Career Opportunities

  • Social Psychology Researcher
  • Marketing Consultant
  • Political Strategist
  • Technology Designer
two students at laptop
student in class

Social Psychology Program Highlights

As a Social Psychology major, you’ll study the discipline within the context of a broad liberal arts education. You’ll take courses in psychology and sociology, professional writing, research methods and statistics.


Choose from a number of compelling electives, like Psychology of Gender; Theories of Personality; Influence and Persuasion; The Study of the Family; Social Deviance; and Self and Society, to name a few.


As a senior, you’ll complete a capstone seminar geared toward professional development, including the creation of a professional portfolio.

Related programs

Park University’s degree programs are accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Park University is a private, non-profit, institution of higher learning since 1875.