Park University Recognizes 2022-23 Academic Achievements at Annual Honors Convocation

April 20, 2023 — Park University students, faculty and staff were recognized for their exceptional scholarly efforts from the 2022-23 academic year as part of the University’s annual Honors Convocation held on April 19 on the flagship Parkville Campus. The University acknowledged outstanding students, faculty and staff with a variety of special awards, in addition to a number of departmental academic honors.

The most prestigious honor bestowed on any student at Park University — the Outstanding Parkite Award — went to seniors Elias Eichhorn and Isabela Ribeiro. The Outstanding Parkite Award is given to two students on the University’s Parkville Campus who best exemplify the ideals of the University in their character, conduct, scholarship and student activity participation. The awards are endowed by Dr. Elliot F. Parker in memory of his parents, Albert and Jessie Parker.

Elias Eichhorn

Eichhorn, a senior business administration/management major from Haan, Germany, has excelled in the classroom with a 3.94 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) and has been named a Park University Presidential Scholar the past three academic years. In 2022, Eichhorn was the recipient of the Outstanding Class Member Award as a junior and received the Park University Business Faculty Award, giving to student who demonstrate exceptional leadership in the classroom and exceptional potential in the field of business. Eichhorn was also named as Homecoming royalty in Fall 2022 and served as secretary of the Park Student Government Association in 2021-22. In addition, as a member of the men’s soccer team, Eichhorn was named an NAIA Scholar-Athlete in 2021-22 and Fall 2022, and a Heart of America Athletic Conference Scholar-Athlete in 2021-22.

Isabela RibeiroRibeiro, a senior business administration/corporate financial management major from São José dos Campos, Brazil, has also excelled in the classroom with a 3.91 cumulative GPA. A two-time Park University Presidential Scholar, Ribeiro earned the Department of Finance academic honors in 2022. Ribeiro, who served as Park Student Government Association president in 2022-23, was named as Homecoming royalty in Fall 2021. Ribeiro has also shined on the volleyball court as a member of the Pirates’ women’s volleyball team. She was named an NAIA Scholar-Athlete and a Heart of America Athletic Conference Scholar-Athlete following the 2021 and 2022 seasons.

Additional Presidential Awards and Faculty/Staff Awards presented:

Louisa Davidson Hinde / Carolyn Hinde Zarkaryan Memorial Award — This award is given to students, faculty, staff and/or alumni who best represent the spirit of Park University by promoting in others that quality of excellence that has always been associated with a Park education.
          •  Manika Karki, senior business administration/human resources and criminal justice administration/corrections major, Kathmandu, Nepal
          •  Victoria Olaleye, multimedia journalism/public relations major, Lagos, Nigeria

Elaina MichalskiDistinguished Humanities Faculty Award — Manuchair Ebadi, Ph.D., a 1960 Park graduate who passed away in January 2015, established the award to celebrate the work, life and thoughts of Woodbridge O. Johnson, Ph.D., professor emeritus and chair of religion and Biblical literature at Park from 1946 to 1966. The award is presented to a University faculty member who exhibits extraordinary accomplishments in research or creative scholarship through teaching, discovery, scholarly or creative work, and service.
          •  Elaina Michalski, assistant teaching professor of art, Liberty, Mo.

Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award — This award pays tribute to a faculty member who shows evidence of commitment to high standards of excellence in the area of scholarship: teaching, discovery, integration and/or service. The recipient also shows effective and innovative connections between teaching and research, especially by undergraduate student involvement and participation. Manuchair Ebadi, Ph.D., a 1960 Park graduate who passed away in January 2015, established this award in honor of Delta Gier, Ph.D., a former chair of the Department of Chemistry who served Park from 1948 to 1990.
          •  Abhijit Mazumdar, Ph.D., assistant professor of journalism, Parkville, Mo.

Brandi HandleyDonna JeanJ.L. Zwingle Award — This award pays tribute to an outstanding faculty member as voted by the student body.
          •  Donna Jean, Ph.D. (left), associate professor of chemistry, Parkville, Mo.

Teaching Excellence Awards — These awards recognize the full-time and adjunct faculty members who exemplify excellence in teaching, as nominated by peers, students and staff.
          •  President’s Award for Teaching Excellence (for full-time faculty): Brandi Handley (above right), assistant teaching professor of English, Independence, Mo.
          •  Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence (for adjunct faculty): Leslie McNolty, D.P.S., adjunct instructor of philosophy, Kansas City, Mo.

Excellence in Academic Advising Award — This award is given to recognize faculty/staff who have achieved excellence in providing Park University students academic advising and mentoring, and recognizes outstanding contributions in helping students define and achieve their academic goals.
          •  Azin Agah, Ph.D., assistant professor of chemistry, Lawrence, Kan.

View a complete list of awards presented during the Honors Convocation via PDF or via a flipbook.



Park University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Park University is a private, non-profit, institution of higher learning since 1875.