Campus Safety


StormReady Logo What is StormReady?
A designation by the National Weather Service (NWS) which certifies that Park University, Parkville, Missouri campus, has taken steps to better protect its students, faculty, staff and guests from the effects of severe weather-related events or disasters. Park is the first university in Missouri and the 11th nationwide to become a StormReady Community.

To achieve this designation, the university had to:

  • Develop and adopt a formal Hazardous Weather Operations Plan;
  • Be able to activate and staff an Emergency Operations Center;
  • Have the capability to monitor severe weather throughout campus via NOAA Weather Radios, other technology and trained storm spotters;
  • Establish an emergency notification system to alert students, staff, faculty and visitors of impending severe weather and assist them with taking shelter;
  • Develop protocols for reporting storm damage to the National Weather Service;
  • Ensure that Department of Public Safety staff are storm-spotter trained on an annual basis;
  • Conduct annual storm safety classes for students and staff;
  • Become familiar with National Weather Service equipment and resource capabilities;
  • Pass a thorough program evaluation/site inspection by the StormReady Advisory Board.

Sponsoring Department: Park University Department of Public Safety
Designation Approved by NWS: November 2005

StormReady Universities Nationwide

Park University (Parkville, MO)
University at Albany (Albany, New York)
University of Maryland (College Park, MD)
Iowa State University (Ames, Iowa)
Northern Illinois University (DeKalb, IL)
University of Kentucky (Lexington, KY)

University of Louisville (Louisville, KY)
University of North Carolina (Wilmington, NC)
University of Oklahoma (Norman, OK)
Midwestern State University (Wichita Falls, TX)
Abilene Christian University (Abilene, TX)
University of California at Santa Barbara